Эстетика Вики
Advertisement


Alternative, также известный как Альт, — это общий термин, который может описывать все, что находится за пределами мейнстрима. Это может включать панк, гранж, эмо и т. д. Иногда, если субкультура особенно популярна (например, рок), альтернативный рок может быть отдельным поджанром вне "мейнстримного" рока.

Важно отметить, что большая часть эстетики сегодня может подпадать под альтернативный ярлык. Кроме того, грань между альтернативой и мейнстримом становится очень размытой из-за возможностей Интернета в продвижении "андеграундных" артистов.

Альтернатива зародилась как жанр музыки, описанный Merriam-Webster как "музыка, созданная исполнителями, которые не принадлежат к музыкальному мейнстриму, которая обычно считается более эклектичной, оригинальной или сложной, чем самая популярная музыка (например, традиционный рок, поп или кантри), и это часто распространяется независимыми звукозаписывающими лейблами".

Истоки[]

Альтернатива возникла в 1960-х годах, когда рок был одним из самых популярных жанров музыки с такими исполнителями, как The Rolling Stones. Альтернативный рок отличался от этого, и можно сказать, что он зародился, когда Velvet Underground впервые собрались вместе в 1965 году. Альтернативная музыка чаще всего стремится звучать иначе, чем современная популярная музыкальная модель.

Некоторые утверждают, что происхождение альтернативного рока можно проследить до альбома The Velvet Underground «The Velvet Underground & Nico». Жанры, представленные в этом альбоме, включают арт-рок, панк, гэридж, шугейзинг, готику и инди.

Альтернативный рэп и хип-хоп зародились примерно в конце 1980-х, когда такие исполнители, как Де Ла Соул, начали создавать музыку в стиле хип-хоп, на которую повлияли несколько жанров. Некоторыми жанрами, которые часто использовались в альтернативном хип-хопе, были джаз, поп, рок, фанк и соул. Альтернативный рэп приобрел большую популярность примерно в 1990-х годах. Звук альтернативного рэпа вернулся с Kanye West и Childish Gambino. Альтернативный рэп/хип-хоп делает акцент на музыкальных элементах больше, чем "гангста-рэп".

Альтернативное кантри или аутло-кантри — больше связано с Cowpunk.

Убеждения[]

Поскольку альтернативная культура строится вокруг альтернативных и независимых исполнителей, поддержка малых исполнителей является значительной частью альтернативной субкультуры. Последователи альтернативной культуры обычно предпочитают поддерживать отдельных исполнителей, а не более крупные компании, когда это возможно. Кроме того, поскольку альтернатива прославляет то, что находится за пределами мейнстрима, альтернативные люди поддерживают маргинализированных людей, которых часто считают "ненормальными", люди, которые часто подвергаются нападкам со стороны мейнстримных медиа. Альтернативные люди также поддерживают другие субкультуры, которые мейнстрим считает "странными", такие как фурри и косплееры.

В целом представители альтернативной культуры, как правило, придерживаются левых взглядов. Одна из причин этого заключается в том, что они поддерживают отдельных артистов и часто избегают крупных продюсеров, где это возможно. Альтернативная музыка часто затрагивает темы и политические взгляды, которых избегает основная культура, например, песня Radiohead «OK Human», обращенная к миру, "чреватому безудержным потребительством, социальным отчуждением, эмоциональной изоляцией и политическим недомоганием".

Музыка[]

The Velvet Underground book.jpg

Исполнители (альт-рок)[]

  • 3 Doors Down
  • 30 Seconds To Mars
  • 10,000 Maniacs
  • Alice in Chains
  • Arcade Fire
  • Linkin Park
  • Nirvana
  • Pearl Jam
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against The Machine
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • R.E.M
  • Simple Plan
  • Soundgarden
  • The 1975
  • The Bongos
  • The Dream Syndicate
  • The Feelies
  • The Strokes
  • Garbage
  • The Velvet Underground
  • Violent Femmes
  • Weezer
Poppy i disagree.jpg

Исполнители (Альт-поп)[]

  • Björk
  • Camper Van Beethoven
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Kate Bush
  • Lana Del Rey
  • Lilly Allen
  • MARINA
  • Melanie Martinez
  • Pale Waves
  • Poppy
  • The Ting Tings
  • They Might Be Giants

Исполнители (Альт-рэп)[]

  • A Tribe Called Quest
  • Arrested Development
  • Childish Gambino
  • De La Soul
  • Gorillaz
  • Kanye West
  • Kid Cudi
  • OutKast
  • Queen Latifah
  • The Roots

Исполнители (Альт-кантри, Аутло-кантри)[]

  • Jack Clement
  • Jessi Colter
  • Johnny Cash
  • Waylon Jennings
  • Willie Nelson
  • Woody Guthrie
Ok computer radiohead.png

Альбомы (альт-рок)[]

  • Daydream Nation - Sonic Youth
  • Murmur - R.E.M
  • Nevermind - Nirvana
  • OK Computer - Radiohead
  • Is This It - The Strokes
  • The 1975 - The 1975
  • The Velvet Underground & Nico - The Velvet Underground

Альбомы (альт-поп)[]

  • Born To Die (Paradise Edition) - Lana Del Rey
  • Crybaby - Melanie Martinez
  • I Disagree (more) - Poppy

Альбомы (Альт-рэп)[]

  • All Hail The Queen - Queen Latifah
  • Aquemini - OutKast
  • Gorillaz - Gorillaz
  • southernplayalisticadillacmuzik - OutKast
  • The Low End Theory - A Tribe Called Quest
  • Things Fall Apart - The Roots

Альбомы (Альт-кантри, Аутло-кантри)[]

  • American Recordings - Johnny Cash
  • I'm Jessie Colter - Jessi Colter
  • The Adventures Of Johnny Cash - Johnny Cash
  • Wanted! The Outlaws - Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Jessi Colter, Tompall Glaser

Плейлисты[]

Мода[]

Alternative Fashion group of people.jpg

Альтернативная мода похожа на панк и готику. Музыка является центральным элементом, а мода и визуальные эффекты необязательны. Однако термин "альтернативная мода" стал обозначать любую моду, выходящую за рамки мейнстрима. Когда большинство людей думают об альтернативной моде, они думают о панк-, готической или эмо-моде.

Хотя альтернативная мода часто представляет собой комбинацию этих стилей, она ими не ограничивается. Например, Fairy Kei можно считать альтернативной модой, поскольку она находится вне мейнстрима. Альтернативное сообщество обычно поддерживает малых артистов, и это мнение часто отражается в моде, а такие места, как Etsy и малые предприятия, являются хорошими местами для покупки альтернативной одежды. Экономия также поощряется, наряду с DIY.

Веб-сайты и магазины[]

Галерея[]

Доски Pinterest[]

Advertisement

Alternative is often used as a blanket statement to describe anything that sits outside of the mainstream. This could include Punk, Grunge, and Emo. Sometimes, if a subculture is particularly popular, for example, rock, alternative rock would be it's own sub genre outside of 'mainstream' rock.

It is important to note that, nowadays, most aesthetics could fall under the alternative label. Additionally, the line between alternative and mainstream is becoming very blurred due to the power of the internet in promoting "underground" artists.

Alternative originated as a genre of music, described by Merrian Webster as "music that is produced by performers who are outside the musical mainstream, that is typically regarded as more eclectic, original, or challenging than most popular music (such as conventional rock, pop, or country), and that is often distributed by independent record labels."

Due to this, in music terms, alternative and indie (individual) can be used interchangeably, as they both have the same meaning.

Alternative rock is the most popular genre of alternative music, and is what most people think of when alternative is mentioned. Alternative rock gained most of it's popularity from 1991 to 1996 when Nirvana released "Smells Like Teen Spirit", as described in this article.

The title "alternative" has developed to often be used as a label for clothing that is outside current fashion trends. The label "alt" is also being used a lot on TikTok to describe the darkest themed fashion that doesn't fit into other categories.

Origins

Alternative originated in the 1960s, when Rock was one of the most popular genres of music, with artists such as The Rolling Stones. Alternative rock differed to this, and could be said to have started when Velvet Underground first got together in 1965, as this article states. Alternative music most often aims to sound different to whatever the current popular music model is.

Some claim that the origin of Alternative Rock can be traced down to The Velvet Underground's album "The Velvet Underground & Nico". Genres featured within this album include art rock, punk, garage, shoegazing, goth, and indie.

Alternative rap and hip-hop started around the late 1980s when artists such as De La Soul began to create hip-hop music that was influenced by multiple genres. Some genres that often featured in alternative hip-hop were jazz, pop, rock, funk, and soul. Alternative rap gained more popularity around the 1990s. The sound of alternative rap made a return with Kanye West and Childish Gambino. Alternative rap/ hip hop emphasises musical elements, more so than gangsta rap.

Alternative Country - or outlaw country - is more linked to Cowpunk.

Beliefs

Since alternative culture is built around alternative and independent artists, supporting small artists is a large part of alternative subculture. Followers of alternative culture generally choose to support individual artists over larger companies whenever they can. Additionally, since alternative celebrates what is outside the mainstream, alternative people are supportive of marginalized people who are often seen as "not normal", people who are often attacked by the mainstream media. Alternative people also support other subcultures that are seen as "weird" by the mainstream, such as furries and cosplayers.

Overall, members of alternative culture tend to have left leaning views. One reason for this is because they support individual artists and often steer clear of big producers where possible. Alternative music often covers themes and political views that mainstream culture avoids - such as the Smith's Meat Is Murder being about vegetarianism and veganism.

Music

Artists (Alt-Rock)

Artists (Alt-Pop)


Artists (Alt-Rap)


Artists (Alt-Country, Outlaw Country)

Ok computer radiohead.png

Key Albums (Alt-Rock)


Key Albums (Alt-Pop)


Key Albums (Alt-Rap)


Key Albums (Alt-Country, Outlaw Country)


Fashion

Alternative fashion is similar to that of punk and goth. Music is the central element, while fashion and visuals are optional. However, the label "alternative fashion" has evolved to mean any fashion outside of the mainstream. When most people think of alternative fashion, they think of Punk, Goth, or Emo fashion.

Alternative fashion is often a combination of these genres. However, it is not limited to them. For instance, Fairy Kei could be considered alternative fashion since it is outside the mainstream. Since alternative supports small artists, this is often mirrored in the fashion, with places like Etsy and small businesses being good places to shop for alternative clothes. Thrifting is also encouraged, along with DIY alike Punk.

Websites & Stores

Gallery

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.